THE Muhyiddin Yassin faction of Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia (BERSATU) have today upped the ante in the power struggle for both the federal government and the party by sacking 5 of its founding members headed by former Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad.

In letters issued by executive secretary Capt. (rtd) Muhammad Suhaimi Yahya, Dr Mahathir, Jerlun member of parliament Mukhriz Mahathir, Simpang Renggam member of parliament Maszlee Malik, Kubang Pasu member of parliament Amiruddin Hamzah and Muar member of parliament Syed Saddiq Syed Abdul Rahman were informed that their party membership had been voided.

This, Suhaimi’s letters to the quintet stated, was due to them informing the party on May 15 that they would be seated on the opposition bloc during the May 18 Dewan Rakyat sitting, thus not in support of the party president and Prime Minister Muhyiddin.

Suhaimi stated this went against Articles 10.2.2 and 10.2.3 of the party constitution, which voided their membership.

Dr Mahathir, the founder of Bersatu has been sacked from the party.

This comes in the wake of rumours about of possible takeover on the cards which would see Dr Mahathir leading Pakatan Harapan back into power, just three months after they were ousted by the Muhyiddin-led political coup that put the Perikatan Nasional at the helm.

The Dr Mahathir camp continues to dispute the legality of Muhyiddin’s hold on Bersatu, with the decision to exit Pakatan Harapan being among the key contentions.